Why I Will Continue With The Rat Race

Why I Will Continue With The Rat Race

I love it

Summer Lotus
5 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Image by Peggy und Marco Lachmann-Anke from Pixabay

Are you tired of this rat race? To be faster, better, and richer.

Many people long to drop out of this rat race because they feel that it is killing them and life gets meaningless running this thread mill. They look forward to early retirement.

I want to continue with my rat race because it fulfills my challenge in life which is the opportunity to always cope with the changes that are inevitable. I want to be active and proactive until I become a dead rat.

Even if you drop out of this race, the change will still get to you and make you feel like a helpless rat unless you stay informed.

Because I am not a country rat but a city rat and I operate on a different rhythm. I knew about this when I went to the beautiful laid back city of Perth for 4 days. The first day was a vacation, second day a relaxation, third-day boredom, and 4th-day confinement.

It was just me. I needed a faster pace of life to sustain me. I was looking for stress that would nourish me.

Because my rat race is a diverse one — My race is not just about work, it is about life in general.

--

--

Summer Lotus

My Chinese name. Inspired by mundane events to write to become more self aware. Challenge seeker, lover of sports, dental surgeon, ardent Toastmaster.