New Year Rant And Revelation

Summer Lotus
2 min readJan 6, 2023
By Rosalind Ho using Canva.com

We are still on the cusp of a brand New Year. During this time, we often talk about resolutions that are broken.

Even broken as they will be, we must continue to pursue to make life worth living.

I will focus on one habit that is useful.

Start early every day.

I can share the immense benefits. Much as I would like to Slither like a snake between the bedsheets and wallow deeper into the mattress due to the soft morning lights, I know that good things lie ahead if I only would just get up.

Used to be, my time is so tight that I would skip my breakfast and leave the house in a hurry, and arrive at the clinic panting.

Thanks to my dog’s training, things are different. She awaits me every morning patiently as I instinctively wake up, like a caring. grandmother, eager to attend to her grandchild’s needs.

After I scoop up the warm furry bundle of my Spitz dog and buckle my waist pouch containing her comb and her poo bags, we would set off at dawn for a walk around the estate to answer her calls of nature.

The morning Sun is always gentle and soothing. It rejuvenated my mind, being, and spirit, and the cool breeze makes my eyes smart.

--

--

Summer Lotus

My Chinese name. Inspired by mundane events to write to become more self aware. Challenge seeker, lover of sports, dental surgeon, ardent Toastmaster.